Funchal Madeira Portugal

Funchal Madeira Portugal

Funchal ist die Hauptstadt Madeiras und gleichzeitig Heimat des Internationalen Flughafens von Funchal. Die Stadt liegt im südöstlichen Tiefland der Insel und genießt somit das milde Wetter Madeiras, das die Insel ganzjährig zur perfekten Urlaubsdestination macht.

Die Bevölkerung von Funchal

Funchal Madeira Portugal

Die Bevölkerung Funchals liegt bei ca. 100.000, was ungefähr 40% der Gesamtbevölkerung der Insel entspricht.

Ursprünge des Namens 'Funchal'

Der Name Funchal stammt vom Wort Fenchel ab, das auf Portugiesisch übersetzt "funcho" heißt. Der Fenchel wächst entlang der Flussufer der Insel.

Die Seilbahn von Funchal

Die Seilbahn von Funchal

Den besten Blick auf die Insel hat man bei einer Fahrt mit der Monte Seilbahn. Einsteigen kann man in der sogenannten Zona Velha, der Altstadt, und fährt dann über die bunten Dächer Funchals bis zur Endstation am Monte, 6 Kilometer nördlich von Funchal. Die Bahn ist täglich im Betrieb.

Madeira Korbschlitten - Monte

Madeira Korbschlitten - Monte

Wenn Sie mit der Seilbahn auf den Monte fahren, dann könnten Sie die Rückfahrt mit dem Korbschlitten angehen. Wenn Sie sich mutig fühlen, dann werden die Korbschlitten-Fahrer Sie geschickt durch die engen Gässchen runter nach Funchal lotsen.

Der Markt von Funchal

Der Markt von Funchal

Der überdachte Markt von Funchal (Mercado dos Lavradores) liegt direkt am westlichen Ende der Altstadt. Der Markt ist von Montag bis Samtstag geöffnet, Freitag und Samstag sind die besten Tage um frische Blumen und Gemüse zu kaufen. Im Erdgeschoß befindet sich ein Fischmarkt.

Einheimische Delikatessen

Funchal Straße

Sie sollten auf jedem Fall bei den Brotverkäufern am Straßenrand anhalten und die einheimische Spezialität Bolo do Caco, ein flaches rundes Brot, das besonders gut schmeckt wenn es noch warm ist, probieren.

Reid's Hotel Funchal

Das weltbekannte Reid's Palace Hotel ist ein fünf Sterne Luxushotel, das erstmals im Jahre 1891 seine Türen geöffnet hat. Es entstand aus einer wesentlich älteren quinta und bietet einen wunderschönen Ausblick auf die Küste Funchals. Wenn man im Reid's übernachten möchte, muss man schon tief in die Tasche greifen, aber es lohnt sich bestimmt einen Nachmittagstee auf der Terrasse zu genießen und dabei aufs Meer zu blicken.

Im Hotel sind über die Jahre einige weltberühmte Gäste einschließlich George Bernard Shaw, Lloyd George, Winston Churchill und viele Mitglieder Königlicher Familien sowie Politiker, abgestiegen.

Click for Funchal, Madeira Islands Forecast

If you've found this article useful then please spread the word...

Funchal Madeira Portugal

View of Funchal Madeira through the aloe vera in foreground

Funchal is Madeira's capital city and home to Funchal's International Airport. Situated on the south eastern lowlands of the island, Funchal enjoys much of the finest weather Madeira has to offer making it a perfect holiday destination all year round.

Population of Funchal

Funchal beyond bridge over valley

The population of Funchal is around 100,000 making up over 40% of the island's total population.

Origins of the name 'Funchal'

Funchal's name is derived from the word fennel which is "funcho" when translated to Portuguese. You can find fennel growing along the river banks of the island.

Funchal Cable Car

Funchal Cable car up to Monte

A great way to see the capital is to take a ride on the Monte cable car. The cable car can be boarded at the Zona Velha or Old Town, and will take you over the colourful rooftops of Funchal to the final destination of Monte, 4 miles north of Funchal. The service operates daily.

Madeira Toboggans - Monte

Madeira Toboggan Ride

If you've taken the cable car to Monte, why not take the return journey by toboggan. If you're feeling brave then the tobogagan drivers will skillfully guide you back down to Funchal through the narrow streets.

Funchal Market

Funchal Market

The covered Funchal market (Mercado dos Lavradores) is situated next to western end of the Old Town. The market is open Mon-Sat with Fridays and Saturdays being the best to find fresh flowers and vegetables. There is also a fish market in the basement.

Local Delicacy

Funchal street view with church

Don't miss the roadside bread makers selling the local speciality which is Bolo do Caco, a flat flat round bread which is especially delicious when eaten warm. More info and recipes can be found here... Bolo do Caco Recipes.

Madeira Botanical Gardens

Madeira Botanical Gardens in Funchal

Situated just 3km outside of Funchal are the Madeira Botanical Gardens, one of Madeira's top tourist destinations. Established in 1960 these gardens are owned and run by the island's government. They are open every day (except Christmas day) from 9am until 6pm.

Free entry is permitted on the following days:

  • 21st March - World Forests Day
  • 30th April - Anniversary of Founding of Madeira Botanical Garden
  • 18th May - World Museums Day
  • 1st July - Madeira Region Commemorative Day
  • 27th September - World Tourism Day

Further information can be found on their website http://www.sra.pt/jarbot/

Reid's Hotel Funchal

The world famous Reid's Palace Hotel is a luxury five star hotel opened in 1891. The hotel is a conversion of a much older quinta and offers great views over Funchal's seafront. Whilst you'd need deep pockets to stay at Reid's it might still be worth having afternoon tea there on the terrace overlooking the sea.

The hotel has had some famous visitors over the years including George Bernard Shaw, Lloyd George, Winston Churchill and many royal family members and political figures.

Click for Funchal, Madeira Islands Forecast

If you've found this article useful then please spread the word...